
Solar canopy over EV charging stations — Photo: Raysonho, Open Grid Scheduler / Scalable Grid Engineering, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons
Fresno City Council Approves $638,209 Sole-Source Contract for Solar EV Chargers
Fresno City Council approved a $638,209 contract with Beam Global on September 25, 2025, waiving competitive bidding to purchase seven solar-powered electric vehicle charging systems for the Municipal Service Center.
The units — branded EV ARC — will operate off-grid, using solar panels and battery storage to charge city vehicles without drawing from the municipal power supply. The General Services Department described the purchase as “a first step toward a robust EV charging solution” for the city’s vehicle maintenance facility.
The contract passed on the consent calendar, a procedural track for items considered routine. Council also authorized General Services Director Brian Barr to execute the agreement and related documents.
Beam Global is based in San Diego, California. The city’s staff report does not state what portion of the $638,209 represents the chargers themselves versus installation, maintenance terms, or other costs.
The Breakdown
- Seven charging units, solar-powered with battery storage, designed to operate independently of the electrical grid
- Contract amount: $638,209, approved as a sole-source purchase — no competitive bidding process
- Location: Municipal Service Center, where city vehicles are maintained
- Approval granted September 25, 2025, via consent calendar (routine items approved without individual discussion)
What This Means for You
This decision reflects Fresno City Council’s choice to allocate public funds toward expanding electric vehicle infrastructure within city operations, beginning with the maintenance facility where municipal fleet vehicles are serviced. The waiver of competitive bidding means no other vendor was considered for this contract. Voters weighing the council’s spending priorities and procurement practices now have this $638,209 purchase as part of the record.
What to Watch
The sole-source designation — exempting this contract from competitive bidding — raises the question of whether another vendor could have supplied similar equipment at lower cost or with better terms. The city’s justification for the exemption is not detailed in the publicly available agenda materials beyond the statement that these are “EV ARC charging systems,” which may refer to a proprietary product line.
At $91,172 per unit ($638,209 divided by seven), no cost-benefit analysis comparing this approach to grid-connected alternatives appears in the public record. Whether the long-term savings from avoiding utility costs justify the upfront expenditure depends on usage patterns and maintenance costs not disclosed here.
The city frames this as a “first step” toward broader EV charging capacity at the Municipal Service Center. Whether future phases will follow remains to be seen.



